So I was shopping the big “canons” lately. I recently have regular need for some reach and did not want to keep renting. The 300 2.8L and the 400 were absolutely awesome. Either would have been nice…if I had arms like the hulk! So, in the meantime while I work out til I sweat developer, I decided to go for the 300 f4L. The f4 was also a fraction of the price. I didn’t really want to spend 6g on a specialty canon lens because of other reasons though…reasons that will be revealed on september 9th…and might just have something to do with Leica….

Anyways, I am absolutely in love with the 300 f4L. I didn’t realize how close it can focus! Beautiful background blur and color at its closest focal distance. I won’t be getting anywhere near the MP-E65 level of capturing bug’s eyes…but this lens will do great on much large subjects while including some of the environment. I have not yet tried it with extension tubes.

Here is a shot with the lens I took the other day getting acquainted with it. 1/500, F/4.5 , ISO 200, natural light.

moth, apostolis, ventouris, photography, macro, canon, 300L

The Moth